ieuan, had a great question on a recent Rules of the Game post.
"In a recent game we had an issue with troops disembarking from a Storm Raven at locked velocity, not sure if they can or can't."
After a lengthy search I posted an answer. Incorrect answer by the way. Thanks to Suijin for catching this.
I really dropped the ball on this one by not reading the entire Flyer section.
Thanks to ieaun for asking this question. Thanks to Suijin for making me question the answer and reading the entire section.
Flyers; Zoom 40k6 pg 80
Finally, models cannot embark upon, or disembark from, a Zooming Flyer.
Rulebook FAQ pg 7
Q: Can units embarked on a Flyer (Transport) make use of any special disembarkation rules for their passengers (such as Skies of Blood or Grav Chute Insertion) if he vehicle has suffered a Crew Shaken/Stunned or Locked Velocity? (p81)
Context: Stormraven suffered an Immobilised damage result and is in locked velocity for the rest of the game the unit onboard want to disembark. Yes unit can disembark from Storm Raven but must follow Shadow Skies