Monday, April 15, 2013

6th ed Rules of the Game: Moving Charging Models and Obliterators

Here are a couple of rules from last Tues game.

JJ typing, Moving Charging Models 40k6 pg 21

--- following the same rules as in the Movement phase, with the exception that they can be moved within 1" of enemy models.

Context: Purifier was assaulting Necron Warriors.  Said that Purifier cannot be within 1" of Night Scythe base.  Connor said that Purifier can be within 1" that when charging is the only exception.  The Purifier could be within 1" an enemy model they are not assaulting.

Obliterators Chaos Space Marines 6th ed pg, specifically Deep Strike

Special Rules: Bulky, Daemon, Deep Strike, Slow and Purposeful.

Context: Connor wanted to deep strike Obliterators.  I asked if they had deep strike.  He said they were daemons and get deep strike.  We both questioned that.  Looked it up and completely forgot they have deep strike special rule.

slainte mhath


  1. That Moving Charging Models ruling is interesting. I just assumed it meant you could get within 1" of opposing models in the unit you are charging. If that's not the case, then I wonder if there are some other movement implications for your opponent in the following turn - as in, do they then have to move to become at least 1" away from the models in that combat?

    1. Evan, great question. If the enemy model can't be within 1" unless engaged in assault or charging then they would have to move in their movement phase to be at least an 1" away.

      Great question.

    2. Connor here. The rule is not that you can't 'be' within 1" of a enemy model, it's that you can't 'move' within 1" of an enemy model. If you don't move your pieces, they can remain within 1". See SUCCESSIVE TURNS on page 76 for an example of a unit being within 1" of an enemy and not being forced to move.
      4th edition and earlier did not have this exception in the assault rules, which meant you could force your opponent to multi-assault by having models from different units within 1"

    3. Connor! You made read one of these posts. I'm so in love with you right now. /twitterpadded.

      Regarding Successive Turns doesn't that only pertain to vehicles and assault?

      I need to email you soon about adepticon.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...