40k Rulebook Official Update Version 1.0a
Q: Can you deploy the Aegis Defence Line sections in two or more
groups of two or more sections apiece (this way, they will still be in
base contact with at least one other section)? (p114)
A: No – the Aegis defence line sections must be deployed in
an unbroken chain, though they can be connected end-to-end
such as in the example shown on page 114.
Context. In last nights game Shawn was going to place down the Aegis Defense line and asked me about it. Informed him of the FAQ and provided it. This also occurred at the 1500 pt tournament last Sat. The Aegis has to make a circuit. Can't have the shields in a line or multiple lines.
Update [Thank you, Gonewild] 12/11/27: At FOYCON's GT Fires of Battle someone had an Aegis Defense Line. Was talking to another player about how to set them up. As I've done at my first GT, and will probably do in other GT's, I asked the TO, Tournament Official "judge," about the ruling before the event went underway. I figure if the event is going to use a rule differently than how I think it works best talk to a TO about the rule. Certainly no reason to bog down a game with two different mindsets and calling a TO over when I can clear it up before it happens.
Asked TO about how Aegis Defense Line can be set up. Specifically if it has to be in a circuit. TO looked at it a bit as if almost puzzling it over. Read him the FAQ and he said it can set up as a straight line. Then I started reading the FAQ again. This time giving it a thorough reading. They say reading is in this time of year. What specifically spoke to me was the use of clauses. Independent clause with subordinate clause "Aegis defence line sections must be deployed in an unbroken chain, though they can be connected end-to-end." I can read it both ways. Apparently I also didn't want to see that comma either.
|How I mentioned and thought Aegis Defense Line had to be set up.|
|How everyone but I thinks and have used Aegis Defense Line.|
40k6 pg 39 Independent Character.
Independent Character can join other units. They cannot, however, join vehicle squadrons (see page 77) or units that always consist of a single model (such as most vehicles and Monstrous Creatures).
Context. Last was talking about Harlistar lists with Shawn. Somehow I got messed up and thought that Independent Characters can now join Monstrous Creatures. Specifically Avatar joining Wraithlord. The idea was they can do Look Out, Sir on each other. Shawn sent me a message about the rule after the game.
Update [Thanks, Will] 13.6.15:
Natfka has been talking about Independent Characters not able to join Monstrous Creatures for a long time. That was a rule in 5th. I thought they got rid of it in 6th. I was wrong.
40k6 pg 48 Monstrous Creatures, Special Rules; Fear.
Monstrous Creatures have the Fear special rules.
Context. This is something I learned last night when the C'tan assaulted Eldar Rangers. Didn't know this rule til I read it in the book regarding Smash. The Rangers did fail their Morale and had to attack at WS 1.
Also Monstrous Creatures have Hammer of Wraith. Something I've been constantly overlooking in every H2H the C'tan has assaulted.