Friday, March 8, 2013

6th ed Rules of the Game: Damaging Squadrons, Accepting a Challenge and Night Fight

Here are several rules that was covered during the other nights battle.

Damaging Squadrons 40k6 pg 77

To do this, allocate individual hits, rather than individual Wounds, one at a time, to the closest model in the squadron.  Then roll for Armour Penetration against the correct facing (so against the rear armour in close combat) and determine the result of any glancing or penetrating hits.

Context: War Walker took a Crew Stunned result from Psyflemen shooting.  Opponent wondered how the damage result would affect the vehicle squadron.  The stunned War Walker couldn't move and could only perform Snap Fire.  Other War Walker was unaffected.  Per Abandoning Squadron-Mates 40k6 pg 77 vehicles that suffer Crew Stunned cannot be abandoned we assume, in this case, that its squadron-mates rally to its defense until a full recovery is made.

Accepting a Challenge 40k6 pg 64

If your opponent has issued a challenge, you can now accept it - nominate one of the characters in your unit to be the challengee. [sic] he can't challenge a specific enemy, just issues a challenge to the foe at large and see who steps fowards.

Context: Crowe assaulted Eldrad and friends.  I thought you can challenge a specific character, nope.  Shawn corrected me.  Warlock accepted the challenge.

Night Fight 40k6 pg 124

If the Night Fight rules did not take effect during game turn 1, roll a D6 at start of Game Turn 5.  On a roll of 4+, the Night Fighting rules are used for the rest of the game.

Context:  We forgot to roll Night Fight at the start of the game.  Turn 5 appeared and roll of 4, Night Fight was in effect for rest of the game.  Shawn thought it was just one turn not the rest of the game.

Unrelated: Great story about the other nights battle.  While playing this couple walked in.  They were looking at some games nearby.  The young lady asked what we were playing.  Told her Warhammer 40k.  She responded with genuine appreciation saying that it looked cool.  Told her "When both armies are painted its great."  Which Dave, bigwig at Fantasy Flight, was walking by and asked him   "Dave isn't 40k better when both armies are painted?"  Dave said it is better with painted armies than unpainted.  She seemed quite enchanted by the models and table.

slainte mhath


  1. The new squadron rules are weird... so, now that you mention it, I have a Rules of the Game type conundrum:

    How do Flechette Dischargers (Tau Codex) on squadroned vehicles behave?

    I've more or less narrowed it down to two possibilities, but I want to see what your take is on the situation.

    Thanks in advance.

    1. Agreed Vehicle Squadron rules are a little weird. They reduced the rules but not the complexity. Don't have my Tau codex with me. Will check when I get home, Timothy.

    2. Timothy, bad (originally typed good) news is that there's no FAQ covering Flechette Dischargers.

      I can see your question regarding these working with Vehicle Squadrons.

      40k buddy would say since Vehicles can't be wounded Flechette Dischargers have no effect.

      The rule doesn't say anything about rolling armour penetration. Because it's lacking info about armour penetration I would say it has no effect on vehicles /cough dreadnought /cough assaulting a Tau vehicle.

      Unfortunately it seems this is one of those RAW - Rules As Written scenarios. A Tau FAQ would resolve that easily.

    3. Actually, I was asking another question (though thanks for this clarification!)

      The scenario I was playing out in my head goes a little something like this: A 30 strong mob of Ork Boyz assault a squadron of 5 Piranhas all with Flechettes.

      My question is: due to the way assaults vs squadrons operates, do the flechette dischargers even trigger (the boyz aren't attacking any specific vehicle during the assault) and if the do trigger, is every boy in the assault then considered to be "attacking" each of the Piranhas in the squadron and therefore trigger each of the piranhas Flechettes per model (thereby generating 5 dice per attacker)?

      It's wonky, but totally lulz worthy if it would work (in the example, that would generate 150 4+ to wound rolls against the Boyz squad.)

      At this point, I'm at an impasse between either 150 dice or none at all in that situation, and neither seems right to me... any help?

    4. Ah, I understand the context.

      Great question.

      This should be FAQ'd. I akin this to Purifiiers Cleansing Flame. I feel Flechette discharger should read:

      Pg 30 Tau, Vehicle Upgrade, Flechette discharger
      Change last sentence to read "Any model attacking the vehicle, or vehicle squadron, in close combat will be wounded on a D6 roll of 4+, with Saves allowed, this vehicle upgrade should be used at the start of the sub-fight phase."

      Since each model in assault with Grey Knights Purifiers would take a wound on a 4+ I would say the same. The Orcs would only make 30 rolls because the Piranhas are one squadron. Like Purifiers being one squad. Now if there were two Piranha squadrons and a disorganized charge would occur then two rolls would be made. Or if there was Abandon a Vehicle making it a separate unit.

      I can see where this gets sticky because you are buying the vehicle upgrade for each model. Can see how you are reading this two different ways. I would rather have it based on individual vehicle so each model would roll XD6 for wounds, X = number of vehicles with upgrade.

    5. Indeed. Hopefully the rumors pan out and the new Tau 'dex lands in a month or so and I won't have to worry about it anymore. Thanks for your insight, I wanted to see if someone else saw what I was seeing, so to speak!

    6. Glad these 'Rules of the Game' could be of help, Timothy.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...