Sunday, March 24, 2013

6th ed Rules of the Game: Turbo-Penetrator and Obscured Vehicles

Couple of rules from second game at Dark Star.

Turbo-Penetrator 5th ed Grey Knights Codex pg 53

A Turbo-penetrator shot inflicts 2 wounds on any non-vehicle model wounded, rather than 1.

Context: Vindicare Assassin targeted Justicar with Turbo-Penetrator (I blink in disbelief as I type this. I chose to do that, should've gone with Hellfire round [Ok, new rule regarding drinking at GT's]).  Opponent believed that you roll two dice to wound not that one dice counts as 2 wounds.  Consulted several other players after the game.  They all said opposite, which I agree with.  One die roll causes 2 wounds.  Not two dice rolls each 1 wound.  No GW FAQ for this rule.  Jury's still out.

Obscured Vehicles 40k6 pg 75

Picture 3: The entirety of the front of the Space Marine Rhino is hidden by the ruins.  However, part of the side of the Rhino is still visible.  The Rhino is obscured, and gains +1 to its cover save, for a 3+ cover save.

Context: During the third game a Rhinos front was covered but the enemy could see the side so the Rhino received a 3+ cover save.

Note: Everytime I refer to this rule and show the opponent this page I hear exclamations.  These remarks are because people haven't read, aren't familiar with or don't know about this page at all.  Rather surprising.  Referred to this page in 3 of the 5 games at Dark Star and each time it was if the player was reading it for the first time.  You can tell if a player has read a rule before.  Usually they give it a cursory glance for the rule they are a looking for.  If they haven't they become extremely quiet and focus on just the rule.  The picture provided on page 75 is a vast improvement from 40k5 pg 62 when describing how a vehicle gets a 3+ cover save

slainte mhath


  1. "A Turbo-penetrator shot inflicts 2 wounds on any non-vehicle model wounded, rather than 1."

    The important part of this sentence is 'model wounded'. If you haven't rolled to wound, then model hasn't been wounded.
    PG 16, second column, Armour Saves, second bullet:
    "If the result is lower than the Armor Save value, the armour fails to protect its wearer and it suffers a Wound.'
    Hence, if the Armour Save hasn't been rolled, then the model hasn't been wounded either. So it's one roll To-Hit, one roll To-Wound, one roll Armour Save; if the model is then wounded, it removes 2 Wounds from its Wound value.

    1. Will, I love your style. Wish more people providing rules presented them the way you did. Helps people looking for those rules tremendously.

      Great point regarding pg 16 regarding Armour Saves. Will put that to use next time comes up.

      Hope to see more of your precise posts on H2Lat40K in the future. Damn, you're good.

  2. Concerning the vehicles cover save, the one thing to consider is what armor facing the enemy is in. The +1 to cover save is only granted if the enemy is in the front armor arc and the vehicle is obscured. If the enemy model were in side armor arc but the front was still obscured you would not receive the cover bonus.

    1. Anon 3:32, I politely disagree. The picture shows Fire Dragons facing the front arc but only able to see the side.

      Using your example: If the Fire Dragons were in the side arc and it was completely obscured but part of the front arc was visible then the vehicle would get a 3+ cover save because they can't see any of the side they are facing. Effectively take the pic and rotate the vehicle 90 degrees to the right or clockwise. You'd only see a sliver of the front while the side is completely obscured. Since the Fire Dragons aren't facing the front they only have an acute angle at hitting it.

      The wording would be changed to: Picture 3: The entirety of the left side of the Space Marine Rhino is hidden by the ruins. However, part of the front of the Rhino is still visible. The Rhino is obscured, and gains +1 to its cover save, for a 3+ cover save.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...